6th International Conference
on Excitonic Processes in Condensed Matter
6-9 July 2004, Cracow, Poland

EXCON '04 Home


Invited speakers




EXCON prize





EXCON prize

The Prize has been newly established by Elsevier Publishers (Journal of Luminescence) and was awarded for the first time at EXCON'04. The Prize is designed to promote research in exciton physics, encouraging young researchers to contribute to this field. Accordingly, the candidates, not older than 40 years of age, must not hold permanent professorship.

The Prize has been awarded in two categories: for the best poster (300 Euro) and for the best paper (1200 Euro) presented at the conference by a young participant.


The prize for the best poster went to Heiko Priller for the contribution entitled Temperature dependent luminescence dynamics in ZnO nanopillars, by H. Priller, R. Hauschild, J. Zeller, R. Kling, F. Reuss, Ch. Kirchner, A. Waag, C. Klingshirn and H. Kalt.

Based on the manuscripts, from the eight submissions for the best-paper prize five were selected for oral presentation:

  • M.Bednarz, V.A.Malyshev, J.Knoester, Low-temperature spectral dynamics of excitons in molecular aggregates.
  • D. Bellucci, F. Troiani, G. Goldoni and E. Molinari, Magnetic-field dependent non-linear optical properties and interdot correlations in coupled quantum dots.
  • T. Iida and H. Ishihara, Optically-induced force between nano-particles irradiated by electronic resonant light.
  • H. Kamioka, H. Hiramatsu, M. Hirano, K. Ueda, T. Kamiya and H. Hosono, Excitonic properties related to valence band levels split by spin-orbit interaction in layered oxychalcogenide LaCuOCh(Ch=S,Se).
  • F. Terenziani and A. Painelli, Collective and cooperative phenomena in molecular materials.


The prize for the best paper has been finally won by Takuya Iida.